Main Menu

PCB announces 16-men test squad for Sri Lanka series


Announcing the national squad for upcoming two test-match series against Sri Lanka, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq on Saturday said that young players have been given chance to demonstrate their talent in the upcoming event.

Addressing a press conference here, Haq said that the squad comprises five fast bowlers and three spinners. Azhar Ali has been selected in the squad after he proved his fitness during training camp, he added.

Admiring the performance of leg spinner Yasir Shah, the chief selector said that Shah has been the best Pakistani bowler for last four fours.

Announcing the 16-member squad under the captaincy of Sarfaraz Ahmed, Haq was opined that the spinners would prove to be ideal for the upcoming series in UAE due to local weather conditions.

The squad includes: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas, Wahab Riaz

Both teams will play their first test on September 28 in UAE.

Two Pakistani batsmen Mohammad Rizwan and Ahmad Shehzad have been dropped from the test squad.

Azhar Ali had suffered a knee injury and he was seen performing light exercises along with other team players during training camp at Gaddafi stadium earlier this week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *